When it comes to its new privacy policy WhatsApp gives up and gives in
When it comes to its new privacy policy WhatsApp gives up and gives in


Earlier this year, WhatsApp wanted its users to agree to a new privacy policy that would force anyone using the messaging app to share personal information with Facebook. Why Facebook? In February 2014, WhatsApp agreed to be bought by Facebook, which was ultimately valued at $ 19 billion.

WhatsApp subscribers aren’t exactly thrill with the idea of ​​sharing their personal information with Facebook

In one of the best tech thefts of all time, Facebook reportedly paid $ 1 billion for Instagram in 2012. The latter is estimated to be worth $ 102 billion. WhatsApp asked earlier this year that users agree to its new privacy policy, which includes sharing data with Facebook. Originally, those who did not agree to the new terms by a certain date were supposed to lose the ability to use certain WhatsApp features such as video and audio calling.

The new privacy policy required WhatsApp users to share data such as profile name, profile picture, IP address, phone number and contact list, app logs and status messages with companies like Facebook Payments, Onavo and CrowdTangle. Early May, WhatsApp said that if he / she did not agree to the new policy, it would not delete a user’s account, but would keep reminding them. WhatsApp then said that if a user did not agree to the privacy policy by May 15, he / she would lose functionality of the app over time.
In a statement to TheVerge, a WhatsApp spokesperson, said the company is turning the tide again when he said, “Given recent discussions with various government agencies and privacy experts, we want to make it clear that we are making WhatsApp functionality available to those who haven’t already That will not restrict the update I have accepted. “WhatsApp also said An online support article states, “As the majority of users who saw the update accepted, we will continue to display a notification on WhatsApp that will provide more information about the update and those who have not had the opportunity to reminded review and accept. “
WhatsApp says those who have not yet accepted the updates can do so in the app. These opportunities will take place “when someone signs up for WhatsApp again or when someone wants to use a feature related to this update for the first time.”

If you do not want to accept the update, there are a few things to keep in mind before deleting your WhatsApp account on Android, iOS or KaiOS. “We cannot undo deleting your account as it will delete your message history, remove you from all your WhatsApp groups and delete your WhatsApp backups.”

WhatsApp offers end-to-end encryption and uses your phone’s internet connection to send and receive messages, calls, photos, videos, documents and voice messages. Certain countries have decided against WhatsApp, such as Germany, which earlier this month banned the processing of the user data of people living in the country. In Turkey, WhatsApp is not allowed to complete the distribution of its update and India has asked WhatsApp to remove its new privacy policy from the app.

Facebook concerned about WhatsApp users leaving the messaging app for other safe rivals like Signal and Telegram

WhatsApp had to give up and give in to prevent more of its members from jumping to other end-to-end encrypted messaging apps like Signal and Telegram. For the latter, however, a “secret chat” must be activated individually for each contact. By the way, you may not be aware that your WhatsApp chats are backed up in your phone’s memory on a daily basis.

To secure your chats, go to Whatsapp > More options > the settings > Chats > Chat backup > TO BACK UP.

The bottom line is that WhatsApp keeps changing its mind when it comes to dealing with subscribers who disagree with the new privacy policy. Hearing the user’s personal information leaked to Facebook could have been the straw that broke the camel’s back.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here