One of the most lauded features of the new iOS 14.5 was the level of transparency in apps you are tracking, also known as AT&T. This function gives you more control over which services use your data, for example for targeted advertising purposes. This article will teach you how to get the most out of this feature that allows you to block the tracking activity on your iPhone.
Let’s start from the beginning: what is tracking transparency in apps and why is it so important? AT&T forces app developers to request your permission to track your activity in third-party apps and websites on your phone.
As you know, many apps collect data that you generate from your daily smartphone usage in order to personalize ads. This is what happens when your promotions are shared with data brokerage services. So if you give an app permission to track your activities, that app can share information about you or your device with other services. This information ranges from your user ID to your name, email address, and even your location.
Once that data is merged with one service and another, you are a great target for targeted ads and ad metrics.
Thanks to the transparency of tracking, Apple gives you the option to choose who you want to share your activities with between apps. To do this, you must first activate the tracking function. This is because iOS 14.5 by default doesn’t allow any app to track your activity across apps and websites. By enabling request tracking, you can control exactly which applications are allowed to share your data between applications and other websites.
It is worth noting that this is not an exclusive feature of the iPhone operating system, but is also available for the iPad or iPod Touch with the respective operating systems from version 14.5.
How to use transparency with apps tracking on iPhone
As mentioned earlier, the operating system automatically prevents any app installed on your smartphone from tracking your activities by default. However, the “Allow apps to request tracking” option gives you full control over which services can personalize their offers for you.
- Go to on the iPhone Settings> Privacy> Tracking.
- Activate Allow apps to request tracking (This allows you to activate apps to keep track of your activity. Third-party apps and websites).
Once you’re done, installed apps on your iPhone will need to ask for permission to track your activity. As you can see in the screenshot below, you can either enable or disable the tracking option for each individual app using the slider.
Of course, not all apps collect your personal data behind your back. This means that only those who actually track data in order to optimize their service will be shown. In fact, you only see this option when you launch the app for the first time after enabling Claim Permission on your iPhone.
To then allow or revoke access, you simply need to set the parameters in parameters the settings > Data protection> Tracking.
Apple reported that in some cases the “Allow apps to request tracking” setting is disabled. Among these possible scenarios, the company has highlighted three cases below:
- For users with child accounts or who are under the age of 18 by year of birth and are signed in with an Apple ID;
- If the Apple ID is managed by a school or uses a configuration profile that restricts tracking;
- If the Apple ID was created within the last three days.
In addition, it should also be noted that apps from the same company such as Facebook, Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp can still track your activities with each other.
Do you already use AT&T on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch? Have you been surprised by apps that requested data tracking on your phone or mobile device?