WhatsApp is the world’s most widely used messaging app, one of the most important means of communication for millions (or billions) of people every day. Leaving WhatsApp is not an easy decision, but the process is pretty straightforward as we show below.
|items||Why is it important?|
WhatsApp forces you to share your personal information with Facebook
|How Facebook announced changes to WhatsApp privacy|
WhatsApp blocks messages from people who don’t accept new rules
|What happens to those who do not accept the new rules from May 15, 2021?|
|Alternatives to WhatsApp||Threema, Signal, Telegram – What are the main alternatives to WhatsApp?|
|WhatsApp: ultimate tips and tricks for Android|
Before deleting your WhatsApp account
It is important to note that deleting WhatsApp data is irreversible. Not even those responsible for the app can undo the removal, which not only deletes the account, but also:
- The history of the messages on the phone.
- Backup to Google Drive or iCloud.
- Remove from the groups you join.
Facebook warns that some log files (usage history) will be saved, but without the personal identification of the user. Information shared with other company services, e.g. B. Facebook Pay, are also excluded from the process.
How to delete a WhatsApp account
Open the application and after making the necessary observations to clear the WhatsApp data, do the following:
- Touch the ‘More options’ button ⋮.
- Select the the settings Possibility.
- Open that account Menu.
- Choose Delete mine account.
- Select the country and confirm the account phone number.
- Touch that Delete mine account Button.
How to deactivate an account on WhatsApp if your phone is lost or stolen
If your phone has been stolen or lost, you may be able to disable WhatsApp through your carrier by blocking the SIM card. If for some reason you are unable to do this, you can deactivate your account on WhatsApp directly. Blocking your SIM card will not prevent WhatsApp from working over WiFi so it is an incomplete solution.
To deactivate your WhatsApp account, you need to send an email to WhatsApp. Your account will be deactivated soon after the email is sent. You can reactivate your account later as usual by SMS or phone call as soon as you have a new phone. If you do not reactivate your account within 30 days, it will be permanently deleted.
To deactivate your WhatsApp account, please do the following:
- Use an email client (Yahoo, Gmail, Outlook, or another) to send a message to the following address: email@example.com;;
- The subject of the email should be: “Lost / Stolen: Please deactivate my account”;
- In the email body, please include: “Lost / Stolen: Please deactivate my account (your phone number in full international format).
If you spelled the email correctly, send it and wait for your account to be deactivated. It is recommended not to send multiple emails with the same request. If necessary, the app support team will contact you. Remember, you have 30 days to reactivate your account before it is permanently deleted.
Have you ever had to delete or deactivate your WhatsApp account? Tell us about your experience in the comment section!
Article updated May 2021 with verified instructions and additional information on changing WhatsApp privacy rules. Earlier comments have been retained and may refer to changed instructions and rules.